Archived - Minister Oliver Meets with Counterparts Responsible for the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System

July 24, 2015 – Victoria, British Columbia – Department of Finance

Finance Minister Joe Oliver today attended the inaugural meeting of the Council of Ministers Responsible to review progress achieved in implementing the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System, and to confirm the appointment of William A. Black as the first chair of the board of directors of the Capital Markets Regulatory Authority.

The Council also announced that participating jurisdictions will release updated draft provincial/territorial and federal capital markets legislation, along with draft initial regulations, for public comment this summer.

British Columbia, Ontario, Saskatchewan, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Yukon and Canada are jointly engaged in the creation of the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System. The Cooperative System is designed to preserve local perspectives while streamlining the capital markets regulatory framework to enhance Canada's financial services sector, support efficient capital markets and manage systemic risk.

Melissa Lantsman
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Finance

David Barnabe
Media Relations
Department of Finance

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: