Organizational Structure

President and CEO

Jennifer C. Hubbard

Jennifer C. Hubbard was appointed President & CEO of Polar Knowledge Canada for a term of five years.

Ms. Hubbard has a social sciences background that will bring a new perspective to the organization and, with 19 years of experience in leadership positions in the public service, possesses the executive leadership skills to lead the organization in advancing knowledge of the Canadian Arctic. She served recently as Chair of the Board of the NATO Support and Procurement Organization, and as Director General, Labour Relations and Workplace Management at Correctional Service Canada.

Ms. Hubbard’s knowledge of government decision-making processes is an asset for the role of President. She has demonstrated strong executive leadership skills, motivating and promoting engagement and relationship-building amongst colleagues. Moreover, she is committed to building diversity and fighting unconscious bias and supports evidence-based decision-making.

The President of the Canadian High Arctic Research Station (Polar Knowledge Canada) is the Chief Executive Officer and is accountable for the day-to-day management and direction of the organization in accordance with the Canadian High Arctic Research Station Act. The President is appointed by the Governor in Council to hold office during pleasure on a full-time basis for a term of up to five years. She reports to Parliament through the Minister of Northern Affairs.

Board of Directors

The nine-member Board of Directors is responsible for the organization's strategic direction.

Vice Chairperson - Liseanne Forand

Liseanne Forand

Liseanne Forand has extensive experience relevant to Canada’s north, acquired over the course of a thirty-year career with the Canadian public service. In particular, as Assistant Deputy Minister of Northern Affairs, she provided leadership in natural resource management, northern science, contaminated site remediation, and the devolution of federal powers to territorial governments. As the Alternate Senior Arctic Official for Canada, she was instrumental in planning and securing funding for Canada’s contribution to International Polar Year 2007-08.

Before retiring from the public service in October 2015, Liseanne held many senior executive positions in various departments, including the Department of Fisheries and Oceans, the Privy Council Office, Agriculture and Agri-food Canada as well as with the Canadian Council of Environment Ministers. She served as Senior Associate Deputy Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development and as Chief Operating Officer for Service Canada. She was also the first President of Shared Services Canada.

Liseanne holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in English (Honours) from Concordia University in Montréal, where she also pursued graduate studies. She currently also serves on the British Columbia Treaty Commission as Commissioner (Canada).

Member - Dr. Karen Barnes

Dr. Karen Barnes

Dr. Karen Barnes was appointed as a member of the Board of Directors of Polar Knowledge Canada for a term of five years.

Dr. Barnes has a strong background and focus in the educational domain. She has held high level roles at Yukon College (now Yukon University), has chaired and participated in various northern institutes and the Yukon Research Centre Governing Council, and currently provides leadership and direction as the President Emerita of Yukon University.

Dr. Barnes is highly committed to the inclusion of Indigenous people in territorial education and engaging northern peoples in the organization’s endeavors, and supporting the incorporation of Indigenous knowledge into the governance structure.

Member - Kimberly Fairman

Kimberly Fairman

Ms. Kimberly Fairman was appointed member of the Board of Directors of Polar Knowledge Canada for a term of five years.

Ms. Fairman has a background in Public Health and Governance. She has held senior positions in both the Federal and Territorial Governments, recently working as the Director General of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency in Iqaluit, previously serving as a member of the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board and currently working as the Executive Director for the Institute for Circumpolar Health Research in Yellowknife.

Given her strong background in institutions across the Canadian North Ms. Fairman offers an important perspective that will benefit the Board as it advances the priorities of Polar Knowledge Canada.

Member - Dr. Maribeth S. Murray

Dr. Maribeth S. Murray

Dr. Murray is transdisciplinary scholar with expertise in both the social and natural sciences. Trained as environmental archaeologist, she transitioned to focus on contemporary climate change and impacts on people and the environment in the Arctic. In 2016 she initiated the development of the Canadian Consortium for Arctic Data Interoperability (CCADI), a national coalition of universities, Indigenous organizations, federal departments, not-for profit and private-sector partners. The CCADI is engaged in the development of an Arctic Research Data Infrastructure for Canada to improve access to data, data interoperability and data analytics in support of decision-making across scales and organizations, and for research. Maribeth’s personal research is now focused in three areas: the integration of climate, historic, oceanographic and ecological data to better understand how the Arctic functions as a system; mobilizing genomics and genomics tools for Arctic biodiversity conservation and wildlife management; and research and strategic planning for the ongoing development and implementation of an internationally supported Arctic Observing System. She is the Executive Director of the Arctic Institute of North America at the University of Calgary, a member of the Canadian Mountain Network Board of Directors, a past member of the Board of Directors of the Arctic Research Consortium of the United States, and a past faculty member of the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

Member - Jacqueline Pepper-Journal

Jacqueline Pepper-Journal

Ms. Jacqueline Pepper-Journal was appointed as a member of the Board of Directors of Polar Knowledge Canada for a term of five years.

Ms. Pepper-Journal has over 25 years of senior level leadership and management experience in both the military and in senior positions within the Government of Nunavut, most recently the Assistant Deputy Minister of Programs and Standards of the Department of Health. She has a strong background in administration, education, health, and the Canadian Armed Forces Reserves.

Ms. Pepper-Journal has a wide breadth of experience with Indigenous communities and northern partners. She has experience consulting with communities and her background in health will be an asset to the Board as health is a priority for both the Government of Canada and for northern communities.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: