New Advisory Council to help Government of Canada develop an apology for injustices faced by LGBTQ2 communities


The Government of Canada has committed to an apology for injustices experienced by LGBTQ2 individuals, their families, partners and communities as a result of federal legislation, policies and programs.

To help ensure that an apology is inclusive and meaningful, an advisory council comprised of stakeholders has been created to provide advice to the Government.

The Council’s 11 members are individuals whose perspectives reflect their lived experience, knowledge, expertise, and links to LGBTQ2 communities. The Advisory Council will be co-chaired by the Special Advisor and by Madame Marie-Laure Leclercq, a lawyer and activist from Quebec.

The advisory council will provide advice on the scope and issues to be addressed in an apology for discrimination faced by LGBTQ2 people living in Canada, their partners, families (chosen or otherwise) and communities.  It will also advise on appropriate and respectful content and language for the apology to acknowledge the scope and impact of these injustices, and will advise on key aspects of a federal reconciliation agenda with LGBTQ2 communities.

Along with Member of Parliament Boissonnault, the following individuals are on the council:

  • Albert McLeod
  • Svend Robinson
  • Helen Kennedy
  • Laurent Maurice Lafontant
  • Marni Panas
  • Kate Shewan
  • Marie-Laure Leclercq
  • Sue Genge
  • Reverend Gary Paterson
  • Shelley Colter
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: