Members of the Interim Management Advisory Board for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police


In January 2019, Minister Ralph Goodale announced that the Government of Canada was establishing an Interim Management Advisory Board for the RCMP to provide the Commissioner with outside expertise and advice on transformation, human resources, modern management practices, information technology and other specialized fields.

On June 5, 2019, Minister Goodale announced that the Government has appointed the following 13 members of the Interim Board.

Mr. Richard Dicerni – Chairperson – Mr. Dicerni is a former federal and provincial deputy minister who served in a number of social and economic portfolios. He supported the development of significant public policies, including Canada’s first AIDS strategy, as well as key policies in the areas of science and telecommunications. He led the Alberta public service in a period of significant transition and change. He currently serves as a board member of Alberta Health Services and as an executive in residence at the Richard Ivey School of Business. He was awarded the Order of Canada in 2017.

Ms. Leanne J. Fitch – Vice-Chairperson – Chief of Police for the Fredericton Police Force since 2013, Ms. Fitch spent more than twenty years in various front-line operational policing roles. She was named officer of the year by the Atlantic Women in Law Enforcement and by the International Association of Women Police; earned Police Officers’ Exemplary Service Medals and the Queen Elizabeth II’s Diamond Jubilee Medal; and was invested as a Member of the Order of Merit of the Police Forces by the Governor General of Canada. (Ms. Fitch will join the Board after June 10, 2019.)

Mr. Randy Ambrosie – Member – Former professional football player and the current Commissioner of the Canadian Football League, Mr. Ambrosie has championed diversity, inclusion and player safety at the League. He has held senior positions in the financial services industry with major firms, including HSBC Securities, HSBC Brokerage, AGF Management Ltd. and MacDougall, MacDougall & MacTier.

Dr. Elaine Bernard – Member – An academic and proponent of the role of unions in promoting civil society, democracy and economic growth, Dr. Bernard is a Wertheim Fellow and former Executive Director of the Labour and Worklife Program at Harvard Law School. She is the Facilitator for the Canadian Police Association Executive Leadership Program with the Telfer School of Management, and a member of various associations and organizations.

Ms. Angela Campbell – Member – An academic and lawyer, Ms. Campbell is the Associate Provost (Policies, Procedures and Equity) for McGill University. Her areas of specialty include feminist legal studies and family law, health law, criminal law, wills and estates, children and the law, and building equity, diversity and inclusion within higher education institutions. She previously clerked for the Honourable Mr. Justice Frank Iacobucci at the Supreme Court of Canada.

Mr. John C. Domm – Member – A former Chief of Police for the Nishnawbe-Aski Police Service, as well as Chief of Police for the Rama Police Service, Mr. Domm has been an active member of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police, the Ontario Association of Chiefs of Police, and the First Nations Chiefs of Police Association. He received the Police Exemplary Service Medal (2009) and was invested as a Member of the Order of Merit of the Police Forces by the Governor General of Canada (2013). He served as the Vice-Chairperson of the Ontario Regional Division of the Parole Board of Canada.

Dr. Ghayda Hassan – Member – Dr. Ghayda Hassan is a clinical psychologist and professor of clinical psychology at the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM). Dr. Hassan is the co-holder of the UNESCO–PREV Co-Chair, a worldwide first, dedicated to addressing the prevention of radicalization and extremist violence. Dr. Hassan is also a senior researcher and clinical consultant at the Research and Action on Social Polarisations and is the Co-Chair of the National Expert Committee on Countering Radicalization to Violence.

Ms. Maureen Kempston Darkes – Member – A lawyer and business executive, Ms. Kempston Darkes is the former President and General Manager of General Motors of Canada. Her areas of expertise include audits, governance, human resources and compensation, corporate social responsibility, and environment health and safety. She sits on Boards for several organizations, including Brookfield Asset Management, Canadian National Railway, Enbridge and the Canadian Olympic Committee.

Mr. Douglas E. Moen – Member – A lawyer and former provincial public servant, Mr. Moen is the Executive Director of the Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy and a member of the Saskatchewan Health Quality Council. A former Deputy Minister of Justice and Deputy Attorney General in Saskatchewan, Mr. Moen was the President of the Uniform Law Conference of Canada, a Commissioner with the Regina Crime Prevention Commission and helped establish the Saskatchewan Commission on First Nations and Métis Peoples and Justice Reform.

Mr. Wally Oppal – Member – Mr. Oppal is a former Attorney General for British Columbia (B.C.) and was a Justice on both the Supreme and Appeal Courts of B.C. for 24 years. He was involved in many significant reforms of the justice system, including the establishment of Canada’s first community court to deal with chronic offenders, developing new Rules of Court in order to promote quicker resolution of disputes and developing new initiatives in dealing with violence against women. Mr. Oppal conducted a comprehensive Commission into policing that led to many reforms both nationally and provincially, and was the Commissioner of the Missing Women Commission of Inquiry in B.C. He is the Chair of the Canadian Firearms Advisory Committee.

Mr. Kevin Patterson – Member – Senior Executive Vice-President and Group Head of Technology & Operations at CIBC, Mr. Patterson leads key infrastructure functions required to run, grow, transform and protect CIBC. With a focus on modernization, innovation and client experience, Mr. Patterson’s primary activities include technology infrastructure, application delivery, enterprise security, payments, processing and settlements, real estate and sourcing. Mr. Patterson is Chair of CIBC’s Inclusion and Diversity Leadership Council.

Mr. Keith Peterson – Member – A former Member of the Legislative Assembly for Nunavut who served nine of those years as Finance Minister and five as Minister of Justice and Attorney-General, Mr. Peterson was responsible for the Finance, Health and Justice portfolios, and for the Qulliq Energy Corporation. His areas of expertise include contract policing, the RCMP, crime prevention, corrections and community justice, fiscal and monetary policy, labour standards, and health and social services.

Dr. Emőke Szathmáry – Member – Former President of the University of Manitoba, an academic and an advocate for diversity, inclusion and accessibility, Dr. Szathmáry has extensive experience in the administration of public and private institutions. She is President Emeritus and Senior Scholar at the University of Manitoba, and holds board memberships with Power Corporation of Canada, Power Financial Corp. and McMaster University. She is Honorary Colonel of the Royal Winnipeg Rifles.

Page details

Date modified: