The CRTC celebrates 150 years of Canadian communications

News Release

March 21, 2017 – Ottawa – Gatineau – Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC)

Today, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) honoured exceptional Canadians who, through their achievements, values and ideals, have marked the development and visibility of Canadian communications over the past 150 years.

As part of its commemoration project to celebrate Canada’s 150th Anniversary, the CRTC recognized 23 exceptional men and women for their contribution to the Canadian communications system, by giving their names to the Commission’s meeting rooms. These individuals are: Israel “Izzy” Asper, Henri Audet, John Bassett, Alexander Graham Bell, Nancy Devine (former CRTC employee), Reginald Fessenden, Barbara Frum, Harold Greenberg, Matthew Halton, Foster Hewitt, Judith Jasmin, Jonah Kelly, Jose Kusugak, René Lecavalier, John Lombardi, Marcel Masse, J-Alphonse Ouimet, Marcel Ouimet, Ted Rogers, Jean-Louis Roux, Jeanne Sauvé, Graham Spry, and Réal Therrien.

At the same time, the Agora at the CRTC’s National Headquarters was named in honour of Pierre Juneau, the CRTC’s first Chairman and a prominent figure in the areas of Canadian communications and culture.

Additional multimedia

Jean-Pierre Blais giving a speech as MC’s Raynald Leroy and Simon Lavergne look on.
Group photo of Jean-Pierre Blais and members of the families of our honourees.


“As part of Canada’s 150th Anniversary, the CRTC is proud to honour entrepreneurs, inventors, public figures and great communicators who, each in their own way, have transformed the Canadian communications sector.”

- Jean-Pierre Blais, Chairman of the CRTC

Quick Facts

  • The CRTC has named 16 rooms in honour of 23 men and women who helped shape the Canadian communications system.

  • The CRTC has also named the Agora at its National Headquarters in honour of Pierre Juneau, the CRTC’s first Chairman.

  • The selection of room names was made according to criteria such as posthumous recognition, ethnic diversity, geographic representation and temporality.

  • A committee of five senior officials, including the Chairman of the CRTC, was mandated to evaluate the suggestions and information provided by CRTC employees.

Associated Links


Media Relations



General Information


Toll free number: 1-877-249-CRTC (2782)

TTY line: 819-994-0423

Make a Complaint of Ask a Question


Stay Connected

Follow us on Twitter @CRTCeng

Like us on Facebook

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: