Canada Research Coordinating Committee welcomes Dr. Ted Hewitt as chair

The members of the Canada Research Coordinating Committee (CRCC) are pleased to welcome Dr. Ted Hewitt, president of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), as chair, effective January 1, 2023. The position rotates annually between the presidents of Canada’s three federal research funding agencies—the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) and SSHRC. As part of this rotation, Michael Strong, president of CIHR, will serve as vice-chair in 2023.

On behalf of his CRCC colleagues, Hewitt thanked the outgoing chair, Dr. Alejandro Adem, president of NSERC, for his service in 2021 and 2022, noting that members had asked Adem to serve a second consecutive year to facilitate continuity in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“During his tenure, the CRCC has emerged as a strategic forum for sharing information and advice, and coordinating efforts, across our organizations on a wide range of topics: from pandemic recovery and climate change, to international cooperation, research training, open science and more,” said Hewitt. “I look forward to continuing these efforts as our organizations work together to create a more equitable, connected and innovative research enterprise for Canada.”

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: