Appointment of Françoise Bertrand to VIA Rail Canada

News Release

April 19, 2017 – Ottawa, Ontario – Transport Canada 

The Honourable Marc Garneau, Minister of Transport, today announced the appointment of Françoise Bertrand as Chair of the board of directors of VIA Rail Canada, for a period of five years. 

Ms. Bertrand has more than thirty years of experience in senior management in major organizations. Her career path as senior executive began at the Université du Québec à Montréal where she held various positions, including Dean of Resources Management. She later took on the position of Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Société de radio-télévision du Québec, known today as Télé-Québec. In 1996, Ms. Bertrand became the first woman to be named Chair of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC). Ms. Bertrand was also President and CEO of the Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec from 2003 to 2016.

Françoise Bertrand has a degree in Sociology from the Université de Montréal and a Master's Degree in Environmental Studies from York University. She is also a graduate of the Directors' Education Program at the Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto.

This new appointment follows the Government of Canada's open, transparent and merit-based appointment process – one that recommends high-quality candidates who advance gender parity and truly reflect Canada's diversity. 


"I am pleased that Ms. Bertrand has accepted this role with VIA Rail Canada. Her contributions to major organizations throughout her career have been truly impressive and VIA Rail's Board of Directors will greatly benefit from her significant management experience and leadership skills. 

The Honourable Marc Garneau 
Minister of Transport 

Quick Facts

  • VIA Rail Canada Inc., a Crown corporation, was created in 1977 and operates Canada's national passenger rail service. The board of directors is responsible for overseeing the business activities and other affairs of the corporation.

  • Transport Canada is responsible for 55 organizations, which include: 

    • 9 Crown Corporations;
    • 4 administrative tribunals/agencies;
    • 21 Canadian Airport Authorities;
    • 18 Canada Port Authorities; and
    • 3 shared governance organizations.


Associated Links


Delphine Denis
Office of the Honourable Marc Garneau
Minister of Transport, Ottawa

Media Relations
Transport Canada, Ottawa

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: