Public Service Award of Excellence - Categories

  • Ian Shugart Award for Outstanding Career

    This category recognizes individuals who:

    • achieved outstanding results throughout their career with the Government of Canada; and
    • continuously demonstrated professionalism, integrity, and strong ethics in their day-to-day work.

    This category also recognizes those who have provided 60 years of service to the Government of Canada.

  • Exemplary Contribution under Extraordinary Circumstances

    This category recognizes teams working on a large-scale event or project:

    • who perform their duties in an exemplary manner under extraordinary circumstances; and
    • whose stellar contribution inspires pride and respect.
  • Exceptional Young Public Servants

    This category recognizes young public servants who :

    • are a source of inspiration to others;
    • demonstrate innovation; and
    • demonstrate leadership abilities.
  • Excellence in Profession

    This category recognizes public servants who:

    • are highly skilled; 
    • collaborate with others;
    • maintain strong ethics in their day-to-day work;
    • are innovative; and
    • inspire and motivate others through their personal example of professionalism.
  • Joan Atkinson Award for Public Sector Values in the Workplace

    This category recognizes those who:

    • consistently exemplify the public service values of respect for people, respect for democracy, integrity, excellence and stewardship in their day-to-day work, and particularly either:
    • help the public service become more inclusive or
    • promote the presence of both official languages in the workplace.

Page details

Date modified: