Making Gender-based Analysis Plus sustainable

On this page

Building a framework to support GBA Plus in your organization

A Gender-based Analysis Plus (GBA Plus) framework consists of six elements which, together, provide a foundation for an organization’s sustainable and systematic use of GBA Plus. It can be adapted to any organization’s structure and needs.

The same framework elements apply regardless of your organization or sector. All of the elements are essential to the framework, although they do not necessarily have to be implemented in the order below. Some may occur simultaneously; or, some elements may already be in place in your organization, providing a basis around which to build the rest.

The GBA Plus framework elements are as follows:


Text version of image

This figure shows that the six elements of the GBA Plus Framework are connected. Each of the elements is written in white letter in a blue box and they are connected by a blue circle. Starting at the top and going clockwise, the elements are: Responsibility centre, Needs-assessment, Policy statement, Training and tools, “Pilot” initiative, and Monitoring. In the middle of the circle in black lettering it states “GBA Plus Framework.”

GBA Plus framework: Key lessons learned


For more information on how to implement GBA Plus in your organization, each of the elements of the GBA Plus Framework, and an illustrative example, see the optional modules of the Introduction to GBA Plus online course.

Page details

Date modified: