Process to fill upcoming Senate vacancies in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Ontario Begins

News Release

Ottawa, December 20, 2016 – The Government of Canada is following through on its commitment to improve the appointments process and to restore public trust in a reformed Senate.

Today, the Honourable Maryam Monsef, Minister of Democratic Institutions announced that the Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments is now accepting applications for anticipated Senate vacancies: one in New Brunswick, three in Nova Scotia, and two in Ontario. The deadline for submitting applications is January 25, 2017 at 23:59 Eastern Time.

The Advisory Board will follow the process announced by the Government of Canada in December 2015, which is based on publicly available, merit-based criteria, such as demonstrating outstanding personal qualities that include following the highest standards of ethics and integrity. The Advisory Board invites New Brunswickers, Nova Scotians and Ontarians to apply using the online application process. Applications will be assessed on the basis of the assessment criteria outlined on the Advisory Board’s website.


“This new appointment process is one step towards a healthier democracy, where all Canadians can have an equal opportunity to be considered for serving their country as senators.”

- Honourable Maryam Monsef, Minister of Democratic Institutions

Quick Facts

  • The Government has established the Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments to provide advice to the Prime Minister on Senate candidates following an application process open to Canadians.
  • The Advisory Board is made up of the three federal members and two members from each of the provinces or territories where a vacancy is to be filled.
  • Since spring 2016, the Prime Minister has recommended 28 individuals to the Governor General for appointment to the Senate through the new appointment process.

Related Product

Stay Connected

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook.


For more information (media only), please contact:

John O’Leary
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of Democratic Institutions

Media Relations
Privy Council Office

Search for related information by keyword

Page details

Date modified: