News Release from the Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments

News Release

Website and open online application process launched to fill 20 Senate seats in 7 provinces

Ottawa, Ontario, July 7, 2016 - The Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments (IABSA) is pleased to announce the launch of its new website, including an online system that allows Canadians to apply for Senate appointments. The new website also provides more detailed information about the IABSA and the Senate appointments process.

This follows the Government of Canada’s announcement earlier today launching the permanent phase of the new Senate appointments process. Existing IABSA members welcomed their newly appointed colleagues: Anne Giardini and Vikram Vij representing British Columbia, Roxanne Tarjan and Donald Savoie representing New Brunswick, Jennifer Gillivan and Ramona Lumpkin representing Nova Scotia, and Jeannette Arsenault and Brian Francis representing Prince Edward Island.

Canadians can now apply online for 20 current and upcoming Senate positions in seven provinces: British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island. Applications for Senate candidates will be accepted online until 23:59 Pacific Daylight Time on August 4, 2016. Detailed information on how to apply is provided on the website.

The IABSA will review the applications received and provide recommendations on Senate appointments to the Prime Minister. The IABSA members will be guided by public, merit-based criteria, in order to identify Canadians who will make a significant contribution to the work of Parliament – with the end goal of ensuring a high standard of integrity, collaboration, and non-partisanship in the Senate.

Quick Facts:

  • More information is available on the IABSA website, including the assessment criteria, forms and templates, frequently asked questions, and guidance on how to create a profile and submit an application.

  • Continuing members of the Advisory Board include federal members Huguette Labelle (Chair), Indira Samarasekera, Daniel Jutras, along with provincial members Susan Lewis and Heather Bishop representing Manitoba, Murray Segal and Dawn Lavell Harvard representing Ontario, and Sylvie Bernier and Yves Lamontagne representing Quebec.


Media Enquiries: (613) 957-5420

General Information:
Toll-free: 1-888-854-1806
TTY: 1-800-465-7735

Search for related information by keyword

Hon. Maryam Monsef Democratic Institutions Senate Appointments

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: