JTFN History

Canadian Armed Forces Northern Area (CFNA) was formed on 15 May 1970 to assist in maintaining Canadian sovereignty and to support Canadian Armed Forces activities in the North. In February 2006, CFNA became Joint Task Force (North) (JTFN). As a joint headquarters, JTFN is made up of members from the Royal Canadian Navy, Canadian Army, and Royal Canadian Air Force as well as hosting exchange officers from other Allied nations.

In January 2009, JTFN formalized the separation of the Commander’s Joint Staff and support elements in the North resulting in the creation of Area Support Unit (North). This unit was then amalgamated with the JTFN Headquarters in 2020.

JTFN contributes to the defence of Canada by providing a Canadian Armed Forces presence in the Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Military personnel deployed here stand as the image of the CAF in the North. As a group of highly professional and dedicated service personnel, members posted to this formation take great pride in their ability to accomplish their mission under the most severe weather conditions Canada has to offer.

JTFN Headquarters coordinates, supports and conducts operations in the most unique environment in Canada. The Team North complement includes approximately 300 military and civilian personnel. JTFN both force employs and force generates personnel for a variety of different operations and exercises year-round.

JTFN Headquarters is located in the Evans Building in downtown Yellowknife. The building is named in memory of Lieutenant-Colonel T.D.B. Evans, C.B., Commander of the Yukon Field Force (1898-1899), which was the first Canadian military unit in operation North of 60. The JTFN Headquarters motto Custos Borealis means "Guardians of the North".

Page details

Date modified: