Backgrounder: National Advisory Committee


About the National Advisory Committee:

What is the National Advisory Committee?
The National Advisory Committee (NAC) members advise and assist the Minister of Families, Children and Social Development on all matters relating to the selection of Canada’s Volunteer Award recipients.

Who should apply to be a part of the NAC?
The Government of Canada is inviting individuals with relevant volunteer and community experience from the charitable, not-for-profit, social enterprise, volunteer or private sectors to apply to join the NAC. It is important that committee members represent Canada’s cultural, linguistic and regional diversities. The Government encourages Canadians aged 18 years and older from across the country to apply, including people with disabilities and those from Indigenous, racialized, and LGBTQ2 communities.

How long does a member serve on the NAC?
Members serve for a three-year term with the possibility of extension by one-year increments, for a maximum term of six years. Membership is reviewed annually, and terms are staggered to ensure continuity. This allows for smooth integration of new members and provides consistency through transfer of information related to the selection process.

How are NAC members selected?

  1. Candidates apply through the Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC) website.
  2. Candidates are screened by ESDC against established criteria.
  3. The Minister of Families, Children and Social Development selects members.
  4. Successful candidates are notified that they have been selected for the NAC.

About Canada’s Volunteer Awards:

What are Canada’s Volunteer Awards?
Volunteering greatly benefits communities and promotes partnerships that help address persistent social problems.The Government of Canada is dedicated to recognizing volunteers and the time and resources they give. Canada’s Volunteer Awards recognize the contributions that individuals, not-for-profit organizations, social enterprises and businesses make to their communities through volunteering.

How many awards are presented?
Each year, there are a total of 21 awards, at the regional and the national levels.

There are 20 regional awards, four for each of the five regions across Canada (Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, Prairies, and British Columbia and the North):

  • Emerging Leader to recognize young volunteers between the ages of 18 and 30;
  • Community Leader to recognize individuals or groups of volunteers;
  • Business Leader to recognize businesses and social enterprises; and
  • Social Innovator to recognize the contributions of not-for-profit organizations and social enterprises.

There is also one national award:

  • Thérèse Casgrain Lifelong Achievement Award to recognize individuals who have volunteered for at least 20 years.
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: