Union-Led Advisory Table


Budget 2022 announced the creation of a new Union-Led Advisory Table. It brings together labour leaders to provide advice on Government and Ministerial priorities on ways to help workers in the changing labour market.


The Advisory Table will provide advice on action to be taken to:

  • help mid-career workers, particularly those in at-risk sectors and jobs, access and take part in training and help them transition to jobs in-demand
  • respond to the needs of workers in jobs and industries facing changes and disruptions
  • promote continuous skills development for workers throughout their working lives
  • support diversity and inclusion in Canadian workplaces and address barriers for equity-deserving groups to get jobs and advance in their careers
  • help workers transition to retirement with dignity


The advisory table consists of 15 labour leaders, including the Chair, from across Canada. Members were selected based on:

  • their knowledge of labour market issues, including a focus on equity, diversity and inclusion, and
  • their leadership within their communities and beyond

Chair – Bea Bruske, President, Canadian Labour Congress (CLC)

Member – Mariam Abou-Dib, Executive Director, Teamsters Canada

Member – Rob Ashton, President, International Longshore & Warehouse Union Canada (ILWU-Canada)

Member – Bert Blundon, President, National Union of Public and General Employees (NUPGE)

Member – Patrick Campbell, Canadian Regional Director, International Union of Operating Engineers (IUOE)

Member – David Chartrand, Canadian General Vice-President, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAMAW)

Member- Roxanne Dubois, Executive Assistant to the National President, Unifor

Member – Meg Gingrich, Assistant to the National Director, United Steel Workers (USW)

Member – Mark Hancock, National President, Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE)

Member – Julien Laflamme, Political Advisor to the executive committee, Confédération des syndicats nationaux (CSN)

Member – Magali Picard, President, Fédération des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec (FTQ)

Member – Linda Silas, President, Canadian Federation of Nurses Unions (CFNU)

Member – Sharleen Stewart, President, SEIU Healthcare

Member – Sean Strickland, Executive Director, Canada's Building Trades Unions (CBTU)

Member – Matt Wayland, Canadian Director of Government Relations, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW)

Page details

Date modified: