Controlled substances: ozone-depleting substances

Under the Ozone-depleting Substances Regulations, 1998, controlled substances are:

Group 1:  Tetrachloromethane (carbon tetrachloride)

Group 2:  1,1,1-trichloroethane (Methyl chloroform), not including 1,1,2-trichloroethane

Group 3:

  • Trichlorofluoromethane (CFC-11)
  • Dichlorodifluoromethane (CFC-12)
  • Trichlorotrifluoroethane (CFC-113)
  • Dichlorotetrafluoroethane (CFC-114)
  • Chloropentafluoroethane (CFC-115)

Group 4:  Chlorofluorocarbons other than those set out in group 3

Group 5:

  • Bromochlorodifluoromethane (Halon 1211)
  • Bromotrifluoromethane (Halon 1301)
  • Dibromotetrafluoroethane (Halon 2402)

Group 6:  Bromofluorocarbons other than those set out in group 5

Group 7:  Hydrobromofluorocarbons (HBFCs)

Group 8:  Methyl Bromide

Group 9:  Hydrochlorofluorocarbons (HCFCs)

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Privacy statement

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: