Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of Foreign Affairs concludes visit to Pacific Islands region

News Release

September 8, 2017 - Ottawa, Ontario - Global Affairs Canada

Matt DeCourcey, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs, today concluded his visit to Fiji and Samoa, during which he attended the 48th Pacific Islands Forum and related meetings in Apia, Samoa.

The meetings provided an opportunity for Canada to demonstrate its increased engagement in the region, including on the vitally important issue of climate change, as well as on sustainable development and women’s empowerment. 

During his visit, Parliamentary Secretary DeCourcey took part in several bilateral meetings, including with Samoa’s Prime Minister Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi; Leignkone Bruno Tao, Vanuatu’s Minister of Foreign Affairs and External Trade; John Silk, the Marshall Islands’ Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade; Rimbink Pato, Papua New Guinea’s Minister of Foreign Affairs and Immigration; Milner Tozaka, Solomon Islands’ Minister of Foreign Affairs and External Trade; and Ratu Inoke Kubuabola, Fiji’s Minister for National Security and Defence.

Parliamentary Secretary DeCourcey also announced funding totalling $2.6 million for four projects, including the World Bank’s Pacific Catastrophe Risk Assessment and Financing Initiative. 


“This year’s Pacific Islands Forum was an opportunity for Canada to deepen the important ties between Canada and the region. It was an important opportunity for us to reiterate our support of Pacific Island nations, who are experiencing major challenges as a result of climate change, and help contribute to finding solutions.”

- Matt DeCourcey, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs

Quick Facts

  • The Pacific Islands Forum is a political grouping with 18 members: Australia, the Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

  • Since 1989, the Forum has held post-forum dialogues with key dialogue partners, at the ministerial level. There are currently 17 partners, including Canada. The other partners are China, Cuba, the European Union, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Malaysia, the Philippines, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States.  

Related Products

Associated Links


Adam Austen
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs

Media Relations Office
Global Affairs Canada
Follow us on Twitter: @CanadaFP
Like us on Facebook: Canada’s foreign policy - Global Affairs Canada

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: