Operational Bulletin 223-B - May 6, 2011

This section contains policy, procedures and guidance used by IRCC staff. It is posted on the department’s website as a courtesy to stakeholders.

Expansion of the China Transit Trial


The purpose of this Operational Bulletin is to advise officers of a change to the China Transit Trial (CTT) pilot program which commenced in March 2011.


The one year CTT has been expanded in March 2011 to include Air Canada, Jazz Aviation LP and Toronto’s Pearson International Airport (PIA) (Terminal 1 only).


Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC), in co-operation with the Canada Border Service Agency (CBSA), introduced a limited one-year CTT at the Vancouver International Airport (VIA) on July 30, 2009. As of March 2011, this also included Toronto’s PIA (Terminal 1 only).

In order to be eligible to travel under the CTT, Chinese foreign nationals must:

  • be in possession of a valid visa issued by the United States;
  • be in possession of a valid passport issued by the authorities of the People’s Republic of China;
  • hold a confirmed onward ticket for a connecting flight that departs Canada immediately (Chinese nationals transiting Canada under the CTT may not seek entry into Canada as temporary residents);
  • be arriving in Canada on an airline that has an up-to-date Transit without Visa (TWOV) Memorandum of Understanding with CIC and the CBSA; and
  • be transiting through either the VIA or Toronto PIA (Terminal 1 only).

The one year trial is currently limited to four airlines – Air Canada, Jazz Aviation LP, Cathay Pacific, and Philippine Airlines. In addition, Chinese nationals participating in the CTT must have as their last embarkation point one of the following six cities:

  • Beijing;
  • Hong Kong;
  • Shanghai;
  • Guangzhou;
  • Manila;
  • Taipei.


Chinese foreign nationals who meet the above criteria can transit Canada at either VIA or PIA without obtaining a temporary resident visa until September 30, 2012.

Page details

Date modified: