Temporary resident permits (TRPs): Authorities and accountability

This section contains policy, procedures and guidance used by IRCC staff. It is posted on the department’s website as a courtesy to stakeholders.

The Immigration and Refugee Protection Act (IRPA) authorizes an officer to issue a temporary resident permit (TRP) under section A24. The officer must follow any instructions given by the Minister on issuing this permit. Initial permits may be issued by the designated decision maker (PDF, 831 KB) at

  • visas offices abroad
  • ports of entry (POEs)
  • IRCC inland offices
  • the Case Processing Centre in Ottawa (CPC-O)
  • the Operations Support Centre (OSC)
  • the Case Processing Centre in Edmonton (CPC-E)

However, only inland offices may issue subsequent TRPs (formally referred to as extensions).


Officers must recommend or issue permits only in accordance with the IRPA and Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations and follow the guidelines contained in the program delivery instructions (PDIs). Officers must leave detailed notes, a record of their decision and the recommendation in the Global Case Management System (GCMS), regardless of a positive or negative decision.

Clear records of decisions allow for the monitoring and research necessary for the preparation of the Annual Report to Parliament. Per paragraph A94(2)(d), the number of TRPs issued is included in the annual report, and they are categorized according to the grounds of inadmissibility. The Minister is accountable to Parliament for the issuance of TRPs.

Page details

Date modified: