PDU - List of countries for which a medical examination is required for temporary residents – November 23, 2017

This section contains policy, procedures and guidance used by IRCC staff. It is posted on the department’s website as a courtesy to stakeholders.

Changes have been made to the list of countries for which an immigration medical examination (IME) is required.

These changes are effective as of today (November 23, 2017) and affect the following people:

  • temporary resident agricultural workers coming to Canada from the designated countries and territories outlined in the list
  • those who apply to visit Canada for longer than 6 months
  • those who, in the 1-year period before they seek entry to Canada or apply for a visa or permit, have spent more than 6 consecutive months in a country for which a medical examination is required

New countries for which an IME is required

  • Fiji
  • Singapore
  • Timor-Leste (previously not listed as a separate country)
  • Tunisia

Countries for which an IME is no longer required

  • Argentina
  • Bahrain
  • Belize
  • Colombia
  • French collectivity of Wallis and Futuna
  • Portugal
  • Seychelles
  • Surinam
  • Venezuela

The next revision of the list is scheduled to take place late in 2021. After the 2021 revision, changes are expected to take place every three years.

Transitional instructions for temporary resident clients affected by these changes

An IME is always required if already specifically requested.

For applications submitted before November 23, 2017, from temporary resident clients from countries that no longer require an IME, the following applies:

  • No IME is required if the IME has not been started
  • An IME is required if it has been started

For applications submitted from involved temporary resident clients before November 23, 2017, involving Singapore, Fiji, or Tunisia, no IME is required.

Global Case Management System (GCMS) changes

The changes for involved temporary residents who will require an IME for new applications received in GCMS will be in effect as of November 23, 2017. These changes will not be retroactive.

Changes to the format of the list of countries requiring an IME for temporary residents

Certain overseas locations are now listed under the country of sovereignty. For example, French overseas departments and territories are listed individually under “France”. British overseas territories are listed individually under either “United Kingdom” or “British overseas territory”.

Updated page

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: