Eligible travellers from 13 more countries now qualify for an electronic travel authorization 


On June 6, 2023, the Honourable Sean Fraser, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, announced the addition of 13 countries to the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program. Travellers from these countries who have either held a Canadian visa in the last 10 years or who currently hold a valid United States non-immigrant visa can now apply for an eTA instead of a visa when travelling to Canada by air. Effective today, eligible travellers from these countries can benefit from the program:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Costa Rica
  • Morocco
  • Panama
  • Philippines
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Seychelles
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Uruguay

Here is what some members of Parliament are saying about this initiative:

“The economic and social benefits that will ensue from this announcement are undeniable. Increased tourism means bringing more families and friends together, a boost to local businesses, hotels, restaurants, and various industries that thrive on visitors from abroad. By making travel to Canada more accessible, we are enhancing opportunities for collaboration, trade and investment, thus invigorating our economy and creating jobs for our fellow Manitobans and Canadians.”
– Kevin Lamoureux, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg North

“The expanded eTA program opens doors to a diverse array of global visitors, fostering cultural exchange and promoting tourism like never before. With this expansion, we can look forward to welcoming more eager travellers to explore the wonders of Winnipeg South, experience our vibrant communities and immerse themselves in our rich cultural heritage.”
– Terry Duguid, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South

“This exciting development will make it efficient and affordable for countless individuals from around the world to visit our great nation. By eliminating visa requirements, we welcome tourists and enable families to reunite and visit their loved ones in Canada more easily. As a proud Filipino-Canadian, I am thrilled by the expanded eTA eligibility to include the Philippines. With this new announcement, we uplift the Filipino community, foster closer ties, embrace diversity and unlock new horizons of future growth and collaboration.”
– Rechie Valdez, Member of Parliament for Mississauga—Streetsville

Page details

Date modified: