Funding for researchers

On this page:

Transfer Payment Terms and Conditions

As stated in the Policy on Transfer Payments, all Transfer Payment Programs require approved Terms and Conditions that define eligible recipients, expenses, and activities, among other mandatory provisions.

The Terms and Conditions for POLAR’s Grant and Contribution Programs are available here:

Competitive Funding Process - This competition is now closed

POLAR has an integrated suite of grants and contributions that supports its Northern Science & Technology and Polar Knowledge Application programs.

  • In February 2019, Polar Knowledge Canada (POLAR) announced a Call for Funding Applications for funding in support of the following key themes under its Northern Science and Technology (NST) and Polar Knowledge Application (PKA) Programs.
  • NST Theme 1: Understanding dynamic northern ecosystems in the context of rapid change
    NST Theme 2: Advancing sensible energy, technology and infrastructure solutions for the North
    NST Theme 3: Bridging northern community wellness and environmental health
  • PKA Theme 1: Indigenous Knowledge
    PKA Theme 2: Capacity Building
    PKA Theme 3: Research coordination
    PKA Theme 4: Data Stewardship
    PKA Theme 5: Knowledge Mobilization
  • Guidelines and Information: (PDF) | HTML
  • Click HERE to view the application Guidelines and Information.
  • Submission deadline: April 30, 2019 23:59 (Pacific Time). This competition is now closed.
  • For questions regarding this Call for Funding Applications, contact us:
  • Email: Please include “Polar Knowledge Canada – Call for Funding Applications 2020-2023” in the email subject line.
  • Telephone: 613-996-0374 to leave a message. All messages will be returned within 2 business days.
  • Did you know?
  • In 2016, POLAR launched its first open competitive funding process for projects related to science and technology as well as knowledge mobilization and engagement. These projects were aimed at developing and leveraging knowledge and capacity to help support responsible and informed development in a rapidly changing North.
  • As a result of that process, 43 projects were funded for a total of $8,680,188 for the period 2017-19.

Polar Knowledge Canada’s (POLAR’s) Science and Technology Program

Polar Knowledge Canada (POLAR) supports research projects within its Science and Technology Program, which aims to create a strong research presence in Canada’s Arctic through POLAR. The program builds a knowledge base to support effective solutions to Arctic issues, northern policy and research development, and advances Canada’s position as a leading Arctic nation.

The first call for proposals focused on strengthening monitoring in northern Canada and research in northern regions of significant resource development. Proposals were accepted for single or multi-year projects. Multi-year projects may extend through 2017-2018, subject to an annual proposal evaluation.

Future POLAR calls will be posted on this page.

Co-funding is encouraged between POLAR and the Northern Contaminants Programs as well as other related Arctic science programs such as ArcticNet, the Nunavut General Monitoring Plan, and the Cumulative Impacts Monitoring Program where applicable.

Funded Projects

Northern Scientific Training Program

In 1961, the federal government established the Northern Scientific Training Grants Program to encourage Canadian universities to train northern specialists to meet national needs. Now called the Northern Scientific Training Program (NSTP), it provides supplementary funding to over 350 students annually at over 35 universities across Canada. The program is administered by POLAR as part of its mandate to foster science and technology in Canada’s North. Northern Scientific Training Program Information Manual 2022-2023.

The Northern Scientific Training Program application period for 2022-2023 is now closed.

More information

Other organizations that fund polar scientists

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Privacy statement

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: