Zika virus: Zika-affected countries or areas

The Public Health Agency of Canada has updated the recommendation for prevention of sexual transmission of Zika. The previous recommendation was for returning male travellers to wait 6 months before trying for a pregnancy and to always use condoms correctly with their sexual partner for 6 months. This recommendation has been revised to 3 months based on new scientific evidence regarding the persistence of Zika virus in semen. It is still advised that male travellers with a pregnant partner should continue to refrain from unprotected sex for the duration of the pregnancy.

Zika virus, along with other mosquito-transmitted diseases such as malaria, dengue and chikungunya, are transmitted by mosquitoes that live in warmer climates. Travellers are always advised to take precautions against mosquito bites.

Zika-affected countries or areas are places where infected mosquitoes have caused recent human cases of Zika virus infection as reported by the World Health Organization. Pregnant women or couples planning a pregnancy should avoid travel to these Zika-affected countries or areas.

The country list is based on the WHO Zika classification table.

Date of last review: March 2018

Country/area Affected by Zika
Afghanistan No
Albania No
Algeria No
American Samoa No
Andorra No
Angola Yes
Anguilla Yes
Antigua & Barbuda Yes
Argentina Yes
Armenia No
Aruba Yes
Australia No
Austria No
Azerbaijan No
Bahamas, The No
Bahrain No
Bangladesh Yes
Barbados Yes
Belarus No
Belgium No
Belize Yes
Benin No
Bermuda No
Bhutan No
Bolivia Yes
Bonaire Yes
Bosnia & Herzegovina No
Botswana No
Brazil Yes
British Virgin Islands Yes
Brunei Darussalam No
Bulgaria No
Burkina Faso Yes
Burma No
Burundi Yes
Cambodia No
Cameroon No
Canada No
Cape Verde Yes
Cayman Islands No
Central African Republic Yes
Chad No
Chile No
China No
Colombia Yes
Comoros No
Cook Islands No
Costa Rica Yes
Cote d'Ivoire Yes
Croatia No
Cuba Yes
Curaçao Yes
Cyprus No
Czech Republic No
Democratic Republic of the Congo No
Denmark No
Djibouti No
Dominica Yes
Dominican Republic Yes
East Timor No
Ecuador Yes
Egypt No
El Salvador Yes
Equatorial Guinea No
Eritrea No
Estonia No
Ethiopia No
Faroe Islands No
Fiji Yes
Finland No
France No
French Guiana Yes
French Polynesia No
Gabon Yes
Gambia No
Gaza Strip No
Georgia No
Germany No
Ghana No
Gibraltar No
Greece No
Greenland No
Grenada Yes
Guadeloupe No
Guam No
Guatemala No
Guernsey No
Guinea No
Guinea-Bissau Yes
Guyana Yes
Haiti Yes
Honduras No
Hong Kong No
Hungary No
Iceland No
India Yes
Indonesia Yes
Iran No
Iraq No
Ireland No
Isle of Man No
Israel No
Italy No
Jamaica Yes
Japan No
Jersey No
Jordan No
Kazakhstan No
Kenya No
Kiribati No
Korea, North No
Korea, South No
Kuwait No
Kyrgyzstan No
Laos Yes
Latvia No
Lebanon No
Lesotho No
Liberia No
Libya No
Liechtenstein No
Lithuania No
Luxembourg No
Macau No
Macedonia No
Madagascar No
Malawi No
Malaysia Yes
Maldives Yes
Mali No
Malta No
Marshall Islands No
Martinique No
Mauritania No
Mauritius No
Mayotte No
Mexico Yes
Micronesia (FSM) No
Moldova No
Monaco No
Mongolia No
Montserrat Yes
Morocco No
Mozambique No
Myanmar Yes
Namibia No
Nauru No
Nepal No
Netherlands No
Netherlands Antilles No
New Caledonia No
New Zealand No
Nicaragua Yes
Niger No
Nigeria Yes
Northern Marianas No
Norway No
Oman No
Pakistan No
Palau No
Panama Yes
Papua New Guinea Yes
Paraguay Yes
Peru Yes
Philippines Yes
Poland No
Portugal No
Puerto Rico Yes
Qatar No
Reunion No
Romania No
Russia No
Rwanda No
Saint Helena No
Saint Kitts & Nevis Yes
Saint Lucia Yes
Saint Martin Yes
St Pierre & Miquelon No
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Yes
Saint-Barthélemy No
Samoa Yes
San Marino No
Sao Tome & Principe No
Saudi Arabia No
Senegal Yes
Serbia No
Seychelles No
Sierra Leone No
Singapore Yes
Sint Maarten Yes
Slovakia No
Slovenia No
Solomon Islands Yes
Somalia No
South Africa No
Spain No
Sri Lanka No
Sudan No
Suriname Yes
Swaziland No
Sweden No
Switzerland No
Syria No
Taiwan No
Tajikistan No
Tanzania No
Thailand Yes
Togo No
Tonga Yes
Trinidad & Tobago Yes
Tunisia No
Turkey No
Turkmenistan No
Turks & Caicos Islands Yes
Tuvalu No
Uganda Yes
Ukraine No
United Arab Emirates No
United Kingdom No
United States No
United States Virgin Islands Yes
Uruguay No
Uzbekistan No
Vanuatu No
Venezuela Yes
Vietnam Yes
Wallis and Futuna No
West Bank No
Western Sahara No
Yemen No
Zambia No
Zimbabwe No

Related information

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: