Employment Equity Groups

In the Employment Equity Act, the four designated groups are defined as

  • Women
  • Aboriginal peoples: persons who are Indians, Inuit or Métis
  • Persons with disabilities: persons who have a long-term or recurring physical, mental, sensory, psychiatric or learning impairment and who
    • consider themselves to be disadvantaged in employment by reason of that impairment, or
    • believe that an employer or potential employer is likely to consider them to be disadvantaged in employment by reason of that impairment
    and includes persons whose functional limitations owing to their impairment have been accommodated in their current job or workplace
  • Members of visible minorities: persons, other than Aboriginal peoples, who are non-Caucasian in race or non-white in colour
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: