Early reporting over the holidays

From: Employment and Social Development Canada

Early reporting

Early reporting is being offered to Employment Insurance clients with a report ending December 22, 2018.

  • Claimants who live in Ontario and Western Canada will be able to report on Monday, December 17 after 7:00 pm
  • Claimants who live in Quebec and Atlantic Canada will be able to report on Tuesday, December 18 after 7:00 pm (7:30 pm in Newfoundland & Labrador)
  • Claimants who report electronically will be notified of the early reporting dates via the TRS and the IRS

Obligation to report

You must advise us if, after reporting early, you worked, received other monies, were not available for work, or became sick during the remainder of the period normally covered by your report. If this is the case, once the reporting period has ended, please call 1-800-206-7218 during business hours, and press '0' to speak with a representative.

Direct deposit dates

Due to the 2018 to 2019 holiday season observed by Federal Government departments and Financial Institutions, please take note of the following direct deposit payment dates.

Tuesday, December 25 – Christmas and Wednesday, December 26 - Boxing Day

Claimant report completed on:

  • Monday, December 17
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Wednesday, December 19
  • Tuesday, December 18
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Thursday, December 20
  • Wednesday, December 19
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Friday, December 21
  • Thursday, December 20
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Monday, December 24
  • Friday, December 21
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Thursday, December 27
  • Saturday, December 22
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Thursday, December 27
  • Sunday, December 23
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Thursday, December 27
  • Monday, December 24
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Friday, December 28
  • Tuesday, December 25
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Friday, December 28
  • Wednesday, December 26
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Friday, December 28

Tuesday, January 1, 2019 – New Year’s Day

Claimant report completed on:

  • Thursday, December 27, 2018
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Monday, December 31, 2018
  • Friday, December 28, 2018
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Monday, December 31, 2018
  • Saturday, December 29, 2018
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Monday, December 31, 2018
  • Sunday, December 30, 2018
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Wednesday, January 2, 2019
  • Monday, December 31, 2018
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Wednesday, January 2, 2019
  • Tuesday, January 1, 2019
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Thursday, January 3, 2019
  • Wednesday, January 2, 2019
    • Direct deposit will be completed on: Friday, January 4, 2019
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: