Canada joins leading digital nations in D7

News Release

February 22, 2018 – Ottawa – Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

The Government of Canada understands that digital government can serve to enable and empower people while improving service delivery to citizens. Canada is pleased, therefore, to sign the Digital 7 (D7) charter, joining leading digital nations in a mission to harness digital technology to the benefit of citizens.

The D7 charter commits Canada to working towards core principles of digital development, with a focus on user needs, open government, and a commitment to share and learn from D7 member nations.

Digital 7 is comprised of nations who are recognized as having the most advanced digital governments globally. Previously referred to as the D5, the group has officially become the D7 with the addition of Canada and Uruguay. 

The D7 provides a forum for member nations to share best practices, identify how to improve service delivery to citizens, collaborate on common projects and support and champion their respective growing digital economies.


We are delighted that our commitment to digital government has earned Canada a place at the table with leading countries from around the world. We look forward to working with our D7 partners on our collective mission to advance digital principles and practices, and better serve our citizens

- The Honourable Scott Brison, President of the Treasury Board

Quick Facts

  • The Digital 7 is comprised of Estonia, Israel, South Korea, New Zealand, the UK, Canada and Uruguay

  • Canada signed the Digital 7 Charter on February 22nd during the D5 Ministerial Summit in Wellington, New Zealand. The charter was digitally signed from Canada by The Honourable Scott Brison, President of the Treasury Board. Parliamentary Secretary Joyce Murray attended the signing in New Zealand on Canada’s behalf. 

  • Membership in the Open Government Partnership, which Canada will co-chair in 2018-19, is one of the core criteria of the Digital 7 charter. 

Associated Links


Jean-Luc Ferland
Press Secretary
Office of the President of the Treasury Board

Media Relations

Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

TTY (telecommunications device for the hearing impaired) – 613-369-9371

Stay connected

Twitter: @TBS_Canada, @OpenGovCan

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: