Canada welcomes leading digital nations into the Digital 9

News release

November 22, 2018 – Ottawa, Ontario – Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

Good government in the 21st century requires that governments offer their citizens quality digital services.

Earlier today at the Digital 9 Summit in Israel, Canada, along with other leading digital nations, welcomed Mexico and Portugal into this group that is dedicated to harnessing digital technology for the benefit of people (formerly D7).

This year’s summit focused on the importance of up-and-coming technologies, among them artificial intelligence (AI), and how they can be ethically employed to advance digital governments. Canada and the other D9 member nations agreed on a set of guiding principles to ensure a common approach to the responsible implementation and use of AI.

Members of the D9 understand the value of AI in delivering improved digital services to their citizens. For its part, the Government of Canada is committed to the responsible use of AI to help provide programs and services that more fully respond to the needs of society.

The D9 Summit builds on the shared know-how of member countries, and will help inform critical discussions in other digital fora, including the G7 Multistakeholder Conference on Artificial Intelligence in Montréal, Canada, on December 6, 2018. 


“Government exists to improve the lives of citizens. In this Digital Age, it’s more important than ever to share information and collaborate globally, so I am thrilled to welcome both Mexico and Portugal into the Digital 9. By sharing our collective expertise, we’ll provide our citizens with more effective and efficient digital services.”

-       The Honourable Scott Brison, President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Digital Government

Quick facts

  • The Digital 9 is comprised of Estonia, Israel, South Korea, New Zealand, the UK, Canada, Uruguay, Mexico and Portugal.

  • The D9 provides a forum for participants to exchange information and best practices, collaborate on common goals and identify opportunities to use digital technology to create more effective and responsive digital governments.

  • Canada signed the Digital 7 Charter on February 22nd during the D5 Ministerial Summit in Wellington, New Zealand. 

  • The Government of Canada has signaled its intention to become a leader in digital government through initiatives like the Pan-Canada AI Strategy, the Innovation Superclusters Initiative and the Innovation and Skills Plan. 

Associated links


Farees Nathoo
Media Relations
Office of the President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Digital Government

Media Relations
Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
Telephone: 613-369-9400
Toll-free: 1-855-TBS-9-SCT (1-855-827-9728)
TTY (telecommunications device for the hearing impaired): 613-369-9371

Stay connected

Twitter: @TBS_Canada

Page details

Date modified: