COVID-19 : Temporary suspension of service at Four Falls, New Brunswick land border crossing 

News release

May 15, 2020 – Woodstock, New Brunswick

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) today announced the temporary suspension of service at the Four Falls, New Brunswick port of entry (POE) along the Canada-United States land border.

The Four Falls POE operates on a seasonal basis from April to September, and opened for the season on April 13, 2020. Due to the present public health situation and current restrictions on non-essential travel, the CBSA has reviewed its operations and will temporarily suspend service at the Four Falls port of entry effective May 17, 2020, at 11:59 pm (ADT). This measure is intended to be temporary in nature and will remain in effect until further notice.

Persons whose travel is essential must seek entry to Canada at an alternate port of entry, such as the Andover border crossing (approximately 12 km south of Four Falls) or the Gillespie border crossing (approximately 14 km north of Four Falls).

The CBSA is reminding all travellers that the travel restrictions announced in March are still in place at all of Canada’s international border crossings.

The Government of Canada introduced these border measures to limit the spread of COVID-19 in Canada, including the restriction of all non-essential travel into Canada.

All travel of an optional or discretionary nature, including tourism, recreation and entertainment, is covered by these measures across all ports of entry in all modes of transportation – land, marine, air and rail.

The CBSA remains committed to ensuring that Indigenous people continue to be able to move within and between their communities, and are able to provide and access essential goods and services.

Quick facts

  • This temporary suspension of service will be reviewed on an ongoing basis as the public health situation evolves.

  • Travellers are required to wear a non-medical mask or face covering upon entry to Canada and while in transit to isolation or quarantine, unless the mask or face covering needs to be removed for security or safety reasons.

  • All persons entering Canada – no matter their country of origin or mode of entry – must isolate themselves for 14 days if they have symptoms of or confirmed COVID-19 or quarantine themselves for 14 days if they do not have symptoms of COVID-19.

  • Travellers will also be required to provide their contact information and place of isolation to help PHAC monitor and enforce compliance with the 14-day isolation requirement.

Associated links


Media Relations

Canada Border Services Agency, Atlantic Region


Follow us on Twitter (@CanBorderATL), join us on Facebook or visit our YouTube channel

Page details

Date modified: