Agile Nations


In November 2020, seven countries signed on to the Agile Nations Charter, establishing Agile Nations as a forum for countries to collaborate on creating a global regulatory environment in which innovation can thrive.
Member countries include:

  • Canada
  • Denmark
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Singapore
  • the United Arab Emirates
  • the United Kingdom

The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and the World Economic Forum (WEF) also participate as observers.

Priority areas for cooperation are:

  • data and communications
  • transportation
  • medical diagnosis and treatment
  • clean technology
  • legal and professional services
  • pro-innovation regulatory approaches


In October 2021, member nations approved the first Agile Nations work programme of 10 projects.

Under this workplan, Canada will work with Agile Nations partners to address issues ranging from cyber security and digital technologies to the use of regulatory experimentation. These projects involve sharing ideas, testing new solutions and identifying opportunities for regulators to better support innovative industries in introducing and scaling new technologies.

Participating departments and agencies include:

  • Health Canada
  • Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
  • Standards Council of Canada
  • Transport Canada
  • Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat


Input from stakeholders was recently sought through the Breaking down inter-jurisdictional regulatory barriers project in the Let’s Talk Federal Regulations online engagement platform. Visit the What We Heard report for more information on input that was received through the consultation.

Page details

Date modified: