Federal Skilled Workers selection criteria - Work experience

This section contains policy, procedures and guidance used by IRCC staff. It is posted on the department’s website as a courtesy to stakeholders.

To be eligible for points, the applicant’s work experience must:

  • have occurred during the 10 years immediately preceding the date of application;
  • have been acquired in occupations listed at Skill Type 0 (Managerial occupations), Skill Level A (Professional occupations) or B (Technical occupations and skilled trades) of NOC 2011;
  • not be in an occupation that has been designated by the Minister as a restricted occupation; and
  • have been full-time paid work (or the equivalent in paid part-time work).

Pursuant to R80, officers should assess the application and award the applicant points for work experience as follows:

Awarding points – applications received before May 4, 2013
Number of years At least 1 year At least 2 years At least 3 years 4 or more years
Points 15 17 19 21
Awarding points – applications received on or after May 4, 2013
Number of years At least 1 year 2 – 3 years 4 – 5 years 6 or more years
Points 9 11 13 15
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: