Countries with suspensions or restrictions on international adoptions

Not all countries allow international adoptions.

To begin the international adoption process, contact the adoption central authority in your province or territory.

If you are a Canadian living outside of Canada, contact the adoption central authority where you live to find out if international adoption is allowed.

Countries with a suspension on adoptions

In May 2019, we resumed processing the immigration applications of Japanese children adopted through the British Columbia-Japan Adoption Program.

Learn about adoption in British Columbia.

Some Canadian provinces and territories (PTs) have suspended adoptions from the following countries:

  • Cambodia (all PTs except Quebec)
  • Georgia (all PTs)
  • Guatemala (all PTs)
  • Liberia (all PTs)
  • Nepal (all PTs)

Countries with restrictions on adoptions by Canadians

The following countries do not currently allow international adoptions:

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: