Participate as an airport authority or airline – China Transit Program

Canadian airport authorities

Current Canadian airport participants

At present, the China Transit Program (CTP) operates at the Vancouver International Airport in British Columbia, Canada, the Calgary International Airport in Alberta, Canada, the Winnipeg International Airport in Manitoba, Canada, the Montreal Trudeau Airport in Quebec, Canada, and Toronto’s Pearson International Airport (Terminal 1 only) in Ontario, Canada.

Eligibility criteria

Canadian airport authority must meet the following criteria in order to be eligible for the program:

  • There is a functioning U.S. in-transit pre-clearance (USITPC) facility at the airport;
  • It has the required facilities to allow passengers under the CTP to go from the airplane directly to a USITPC facility or to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) area for examination or to a designated transit area for Fifth Freedom RightFootnote * flights whose passengers are to be examined upon arrival in the United States; and
  • It signs a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) and the CBSA that sets out the terms and conditions of the CTP.

Notice: To exercise the Fifth Freedom RightFootnote *, the airline’s home country must have obtained the necessary Fifth Freedom Right in its air agreements with both the bilateral partner country and the third country involved. For more information, contact Transport Canada.


Current airline participants

The following airlines are currently eligible to transport passengers under the CTP:

  • Air Canada
  • Air Canada Rouge
  • Air China
  • Air Georgian
  • Cathay Pacific
  • China Eastern
  • China Southern
  • Hainan Airlines
  • Jazz Air
  • Philippines Airlines
  • Sky Regional Airlines Inc.
  • Xiamen Airlines
  • WestJet

Eligibility criteria

An airline must meet specific criteria in order to be eligible for the CTP including, but not limited to, the following:

  • It meets all requirements to fly into Canada and to operate in Canadian airspace;
  • It flies to a CTP-approved airport;
  • It has access to USITPC facilities at the airport or a designated transit area for Fifth Freedom Right flights;
  • It holds an MOU with the CBSA that is in good standing as per section 280 of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations (this MOU outlines the requirements for transporting passengers to Canada);
  • It signs a CTP MOU with IRCC and the CBSA.

Important: Participating airlines must collect and report CTP passenger data to the Government of Canada, as identified in the CTP MOU, for statistical and program evaluation purposes.

Application process

If airport authorities and airlines meet the minimum eligibility criteria, they are invited to submit a formal business case directly to IRCC and the CBSA. Find out more about the application process.


Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: