The Minister of National Revenue announces the reappointment of the Chair of the Canada Revenue Agency's Board of Management

News release

March 31, 2021                                     Ottawa, Ontario                                     Canada Revenue Agency

The Honourable Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue, today announced that Ms. Suzanne Gouin, MBA, ICD.D, has been reappointed Chair of the Canada Revenue Agency’s (CRA) Board of Management for a five-year term. Ms. Gouin was first appointed by the Government of Canada on August 29, 2017.

A graduate in political science from Concordia University, Ms. Gouin holds an MBA from the Ivey Business School at Western University. She is a graduate of the Directors Education Program at the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) and holds the ICD.D Designation.

Ms. Gouin is an accomplished media and telecommunications senior executive. She is experienced in and passionate about the transformation of large organizations, including their digital transformation. Her reappointment will continue a focus on the CRA’s strategic priorities, as well as maintaining strong leadership during an unprecedented time. Ms. Gouin has been a member of the Foundation of Greater Montréal’s board since 2016 and a member of Hydro-Québec’s board since 2008, and she serves on a number of national advisory committees.

The CRA’s Board of Management is responsible for overseeing the organization and administration of the CRA, as well as the management of its resources, services, property, personnel, and contracts. The board brings a forward-looking, strategic perspective to the CRA’s operations, and it fosters sound management and service delivery. The Minister of National Revenue retains full accountability to Parliament and to Canadian citizens for all CRA activities.


“Ms. Gouin is an exemplary leader who has excelled in the field of media and has been a formidable supporter of her community through her work on various boards. She brings a wealth of experience to the Canada Revenue Agency, and I am confident in the leadership she will continue to bring to the CRA.”

The Honourable Diane Lebouthillier, Minister of National Revenue

Quick facts

  • Governor in Council appointments are open, transparent, and merit-based selection processes that reflect the Government of Canada’s commitment to linguistic, regional, and cultural diversity.

  • The Board of Management is comprised of 15 members, including the Chair, the Commissioner of the CRA, 11 directors nominated by the provinces and territories, and two directors nominated by the federal government. All members are appointed by the Governor in Council.

  • The Chair of the Board is appointed for a term of not more than five years, which may be renewed for one further term of not more than five years.

Associated links


Media Relations
Canada Revenue Agency

- 30 -

Stay Connected


Search for related information by keyword: Taxes | Canada Revenue Agency | Canada | general public | news releases | Hon. Diane Lebouthillier
Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: