Certification Program for the Federal Government Procurement and Materiel Management Communities

Note to reader: This Program will be sunset in December 2022. No new participants are being accepted, and current enrollees must complete requirements to graduate prior to December 31, 2022

Government of Canada employees who work in procurement and/or materiel management can obtain a professional designation through a government-wide certification. Participants follow a rigorous program, proving their capacity in both core and functional competencies in their professions.

There are two levels of professional certification:

  • Certified Federal Specialist in Procurement (Level I and Level II); and
  • Certified Federal Specialist in Materiel Management (Level I).

Key program elements include:


Candidates must demonstrate that they meet the level of experience required for each competency. They must also have a minimum number of years of public sector experience in procurement or materiel management.


Candidates must complete a combination of mandatory and elective training courses or obtain equivalencies when possible.


Candidates must pass a knowledge exam for Level I certification and a case study exam for Level II procurement certification.

Obtaining the professional designation through the Certification Program provides clear benefits to successful participants. It provides them with a competitive edge throughout their careers in procurement and materiel management. The designation also demonstrates to potential employers that successful participants have been held to the highest standards, practices and professional conduct of their professions, and provides proof of these qualifications.

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: