Overview of the Canada-Chile commission

The Canada-Chile Commission for Environmental Cooperation was established under Article 8 of the Canada-Chile Agreement on Environmental Cooperation. The Commission provides the forum for the two Parties to cooperate on environmental issues.

The Commission is composed of a Council, a Joint Submission Committee and a Joint Public Advisory Committee. The Commission is supported by two National Secretariats, Canadian and Chilean, established in each country.

Cooperative activities are planned and carried out jointly with the resources of the Commission.The Work Program and Budget of the Commission is prepared jointly by the National Secretariats and approved by the Council. The Agreement also provides for the preparation of an Annual Report by the Commission.

Canada-Chile Commission Organizational Chart

Long description or organizational chart

This graphic shows the structure of the Canada-Chile Commission for Environmental Cooperation, including a Council composed of the Ministers of the Environment from both parties, a Joint Submission Committee that reviews submissions on enforcement matters, a Joint Public Advisory Committee that provides advice to Council, and National Secretariats that provide technical, administrative and operational support to Council and are housed within each Party’s Ministry of the Environment.

The Council

The Council, which is established under Article 8, section A of the CCAEC, is the governing body of the Commission and is comprised of the ministers of the environment for Canada and Chile (or their designates). The Council must meet at least once a year in regular session.

The main functions of the Council are to:

(a) serve as a forum for the discussion of environmental matters within the scope of this Agreement;

(b) oversee the implementation and develop recommendations on the further elaboration of this Agreement and, to this end, the Council shall, within three years after the date of entry into force of this Agreement, review its operation and effectiveness in the light of experience;

(c) oversee the functions assigned to the National Secretariats within the scope of this Agreement;

(d) address questions and differences that may arise between the Parties regarding the interpretation or application of this Agreement;

(e) approve the annual program of work and budget of the Commission; and

(f) promote and facilitate cooperation between the Parties with respect to environmental matters.


Canadian Council Representative: The Honourable Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Environment and Climate Change

  • Designate: Lucie Desforges, Director General, Bilateral Affairs and Trade Directorate, International Affairs Branch, Environment and Climate Change Canada

Chilean Council Representative: Her Excellency Carolina Schmidt, Minister of the Environment

  • Designate: Meilín León, Head of the International Affairs Office, Ministry of the Environment of Chile

Joint Submission Committee (JSC)

The Joint Submission Committee (JSC), established under Article 12 of the CCAEC, is responsible for reviewing submissions on enforcement matters under Article 14 (2) of the Agreement where a citizen of Canada or Chile may file a written complaint asserting that a Party is failing to effectively enforce an environmental law.

The JSC determines whether a submission merits requesting a response from the Party whose laws are the subject of the submission and, whether the submission, in light of any response provided by the Party, merits development of a factual record. Article 15 of the Agreement sets out the process for the consideration and development of a factual record.

The JSC is composed of two non-governmental representatives, one from each Party. Members are chosen by the Council for a three year term.


Canadian Member: Carlos G. Garcia

Chilean Member: To be confirmed

Joint Public Advisory Committee (JPAC)

The Joint Public Advisory Committee (JPAC), which is established under Article 16 of the CCAEC, is comprised of four non-governmental members, two from each Party. It serves as the bridge for public input to work of the Commission. The JPAC provides advice to the Council on any matter within the scope of the Agreement and meets at least once a year at the time of the annual session of Council.


Canadian Members

Maxim Audet Daigle

Jaclyn Daitchman

Chilean Members

Manuel José Barros

José Tomás Barrueto

National Secretariats

The Canada-Chile Commission for Environmental Cooperation is supported by two small National Secretariats, one established within existing federal institutions in each country. Article 11 of the Canada-Chile Agreement on Environmental Cooperation (CCAEC) sets out the terms for establishing these secretariats.

The Secretariats, which are each headed by an Executive Secretary, provide technical, administrative and operational support to the Council and to committees and groups established by the Council. In addition, the Secretariats jointly develop the annual work program and budget of the Commission which is approved by the Council.

Canadian National Secretariat

Canada-Chile Commission for Environmental Cooperation
Canadian National Secretariat
Environment and Climate Change Canada
200 Sacré-Coeur Boulevard, 15th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H3
Phone: (819) 938-9534

Chilean National Secretariat

Canada-Chile Commission for Environmental Cooperation
Chilean National Secretariat
Ministerio del Medio Ambiente
San Martín 73
Santiago, Chile
Phone: (56-2) 25735600

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: