Transit Without Visa Program: Participate as an airport authority or air carrier

The Transit Without Visa (TWOV) Program allows eligible foreign nationals to transit through Canada without a visa or an electronic travel authorization (eTA).

Canadian airport authorities

Current Canadian airport participants

The program currently operates at the following Canadian airports

  • Toronto Pearson International Airport, Terminal 1 only (Ontario)
  • Calgary International Airport (Alberta)
  • Vancouver International Airport (British Columbia)
  • Winnipeg International Airport (Manitoba)

Eligibility criteria

A Canadian airport authority must meet the following criteria in order to be eligible for the TWOV Program

  • It has a functioning U.S. in-transit pre-clearance (USITPC) facility at the airport
  • It has the required facilities to allow passengers under the program to go from the airplane directly to a USITPC facility or to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) area for examination, or to a designated transit area for Fifth Freedom RightFootnote * flights whose passengers are to be examined upon arrival in the United States
  • It has signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) and the CBSA, which sets out the terms and conditions of the program

Notice: To exercise the Fifth Freedom RightFootnote *, the airline’s home country must have obtained the necessary Fifth Freedom Right in its air agreements with both the bilateral partner country and the third country involved. For more information, contact Transport Canada.

Air Carriers

Current air carrier participants

The following air carriers are currently eligible to transport passengers under the TWOV Program

  • Air Canada
  • Air Canada Rouge
  • Air China
  • Cathay Pacific
  • China Airlines
  • China Eastern
  • China Southern
  • Hainan Airlines
  • Jazz Air
  • Philippines Airlines
  • WestJet
  • Xiamen Airlines

Eligibility criteria

An air carrier must meet specific criteria in order to be eligible for the TWOV Program. These include, but are not limited to, the following

  • It meets all requirements to fly into Canada and to operate in Canadian airspace
  • It flies to a TWOV Program-approved airport
  • It has access to USITPC facilities at the airport or a designated transit area for Fifth Freedom Right flights
  • It holds a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with the CBSA that is in good standing as per section 280 of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations (this MOU outlines the requirements for transporting passengers to Canada)
  • It has signed a TWOV MOU with IRCC and the CBSA

Important: Participating airlines must collect and report TWOV passenger data to the Government of Canada, as identified in the TWOV MOU, for statistical and program evaluation purposes.

Application process

Airport authorities and airlines that meet the minimum eligibility criteria are invited to apply directly to IRCC and the CBSA.

Find out more about the application process.


Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: