Dress instructions | Section 6 Distinguishing insignia and awards

Table of contents
    1. Sea Service Insignia: The Sea Service Insignia is awarded to CAF personnel for recognition of time at sea. The insignia is metal for service dress shirts, high collar whites, mess dress and naval service dress and embroidered on melton cloth for army and airforce service dress jackets. There are four levels of insignia, gun metal, bronze, silver, and gold. The level of insignia that is presented is dependant on the amount of time spent at sea, as determined by RCN. The insignia is illustrated in fig 3-6-3, and eligible personnel shall wear the insignia as detailed at Annex F.


  1. The following award badges shall be worn by authorized members as detailed in Figure 3-6-1 and Annex F:
    1. Championship Badge. A brass and silver coloured miniature metal rifle, awarded to each member of the Canadian Forces Unit Championship Rifle Teams, Regular and Reserve, upon being declared winners of the Letson Trophy or the Clarence R. Smith Trophy respectively. CFAO 50-15 refers.
    2. Safe Driver Award. Safe Driver awards are for all master corporals, corporals, privates and DND civilian employees. On promotion to sergeant, personnel may continue to wear the Safe Driver pin for which they last qualified but shall not be eligible for further awards. Same rules apply for all commissioned or occupational transfers. The metal pin consists of the bronze, silver, gold and finally platinum maple leaf, centred by a wheel and the base inscribed with the amount of kilometres collisions free. The pin is awarded in recognition of the indicated number of kilometres of accident free driving.
    3. The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. Awarded to members of participating organizations, including cadet corps, whose members are between the ages of 14 and 25 years and who, as individuals, are participating in the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme. The oval shaped metal pin, displaying the cypher of HRH, The Duke of Edinburgh, is awarded in bronze, silver or gold, depending upon the level of the award achieved. Awards shall be worn on the service dress jacket, but only when initially receiving the pin or when parading before HRH, The Duke of Edinburgh, on subsequent occasions.
    4. The (Gold) Order of St. John Pin. Awarded to individuals by the Order of St. John for meritorious acts. The pin shall be worn on the service dress jacket only when initially receiving the pin, and on all future occasions when the recipient is present at an Order of St. John function or activity.


  1. Army marksmen of the rank of Sergeant and below who have qualified as a first class shot or marksman, based on annual classification results for the service rifle, are authorized to wear the appropriate marksmanship badge, embroidered in CF gold on rifle green melton cloth, on service dress jackets (see Figure 3-6-2 and Annex F). If the member does not re-qualify as a first class shot, or marksman within one calendar year, the badge shall be removed.


  1. Are for physical injuries received in operations prior to 7 Oct 01 are worn. Wounds stripes have been superseded by the Sacrifice Medal. Recipients of the Sacrifice Medal shall not wear the Wound Stripe unless they have qualified for the badge as a result of wounds received before 7 Oct 01.

Figure 3-6-1 Award Badges

Figure 3-6-2 Marksmanship Badges

Figure 3-6-3 Distinguishing Insignia

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: