Canada’s National Adaptation Strategy: Building Resilient Communities and a Strong Economy

The impacts of climate change and extreme weather are affecting our lives in Canada. We are already experiencing record-breaking climate events – from wildfires to extreme heat waves to floods – all across the country. Pervasive and slow onset events like permafrost thaw and sea-level rise are changing landscapes and threatening safety and livelihoods.

The choices and adaptation actions we take today will help decide the future of our communities, our livelihoods, our environment, and our economy. We must act now to create a climate resilient society.

Canada’s first National Adaptation Strategy outlines a shared path and sets common direction for a more climate resilient Canada through:

Our Path to Climate-Ready Communities: The Government of Canada Adaptation Action Plan

The Government of Canada Adaptation Action Plan outlines how the federal government is contributing to implementing the National Adaptation Strategy. It provides a framework to organize federal adaptation actions going forward. The Government of Canada is making targeted choices to help meet the Strategy’s goals and objectives, while respecting the federal government’s role and authority for action.  

The federal action plan organizes targeted measures in the five areas that are laid out in the Strategy:

The federal action plan will complement the adaptation work and strategies of provinces, territories and Indigenous partners. In addition to the federal plan, separate provincial and territorial action plans will advance efforts on shared priorities, and Indigenous climate leadership will support self-determined action. Taken together, these efforts will make Canada more climate resilient as the country continues to face the impacts of climate change, now and in the future.


News releases

Related links

Contact information

For more information:

Report a problem or mistake on this page
Please select all that apply:

Thank you for your help!

You will not receive a reply. For enquiries, contact us.

Date modified: