Temporary residents: Electronic travel authorization

Special measures are currently in effect due to the disruption of services associated with impacts of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). See further instructions:

Note: Some Entry/Exit information can be accessed in the GCMS by conducting a query through the application screen. Since February 26, 2019, all land entry and exit records (on all travellers, including Canadian and US citizens) and all air entry records are available. The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) will start to onboard air carriers between June 2020 and June 2021 to obtain air exit information. As of June 2021, all air exit information will be available through a query in the GCMS. Entry/Exit information can be used to assess residency and to check for overstays. Data collected is point forward and not available for records that predate February 26, 2019.

This section contains policy, procedures and guidance used by IRCC staff. It is posted on the department’s website as a courtesy to stakeholders.

The electronic travel authorization (eTA) initiative is a key commitment intended to strengthen mutual Canada–U.S. security by addressing potential threats as early as possible outside the North American perimeter. The eTA initiative harmonizes the Canadian and U.S. approaches to the pre-departure screening of visa-exempt foreign nationals.

Under the eTA initiative, visa-exempt foreign nationals (U.S. citizens exempted) are required to obtain an eTA before travelling to Canada by air, unless otherwise exempted from the requirement. Certain low-risk foreign nationals from select visa-required countries may also be eligible to obtain an eTA to travel to Canada by air via the eTA expansion program.

Learn more

Page details

Date modified: