Program delivery update: Visa lift on United Arab Emirates – June 5, 2018

This section contains policy, procedures and guidance used by IRCC staff. It is posted on the department’s website as a courtesy to stakeholders.

As of 5:30 a.m. Eastern Time (ET), on June 5, 2018, Canada has lifted the visa requirement for nationals of the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Nationals from the UAE now require an electronic travel authorization (eTA) to travel to or transit through Canada by air.

The program delivery instructions have been updated to include the UAE in the list of countries whose nationals require an eTA. Below are facilitative measures that should be taken by UAE nationals who are travelling before or just following the visa lift.

Service channels

Citizens of the UAE can apply online for an eTA.

UAE citizens continue to have access to e-Apps and visa application centres (VACs) to submit study or work permit applications. Applications for a travel document (permanent resident abroad) can also be submitted to the nearest VAC.

Citizens who are from other countries whose nationals require visas but who are residing in the UAE can also apply online for a TRV or study or work permit, or they can submit a paper application in person or by mail to the nearest VAC.

Updated instructions

Page details

Date modified: