Information on priority entitlements


Eleven types of priority entitlements help people cope with changes in life and employment including:

  • becoming disabled
  • work force adjustment
  • returning from extended leave
  • relocating with a spouse or common-law partner
  • being medically released from the Canadian Armed Forces or the Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Detailed information is provided in the Guide on Priority Entitlements.

The Public Service Commission is responsible for administering and overseeing the provisions of the Public Service Employment Act  and the Public Service Employment Regulations regarding priority entitlements, and monitoring staffing practices in relation to the legislative framework for priorities. Entitlements are provided, for limited periods, for persons who meet specific conditions to be appointed in priority to others to vacant positions in the federal public service. Requirements related to priority entitlements are outlined in the Appointment Policy. The Priority Administration Directive outlines the roles and responsibilities of persons with a priority entitlement, departments and agencies and the Public Service Commission.

Did you know?

The Public Service Commission of Canada has published many open datasets to the Government of Canada’s Open Government Portal. 

You can visit the Open Government Portal and search for open data including Public Service Commission datasets on priority entitlements.

Page details

Date modified: